Cooking my way out of a breakfast rut

Image

I get into food ruts. It’s easy to do since I have a lot of food allergies that make menu planning difficult. Breakfasts are the most difficult for us non-morning people. I need something to grab and go that won’t take longer than making a smoothie. I love cooking on Sunday and then it’s grab-and-go all week.

I found Irish Cooking in a sale bin at my favorite bookstore. Paging through I found several recipes that sounded wonderful for breakfast. I played around with the ingredients a bit to eliminate the wheat and tried the muffins out on my friends at a tea. They were a hit. The recipe is simple and reheating in the microwave makes them just right with a cup of tea in the morning.

Even though I was careful to not overmix the dough, they didn’t rise much. I think that is a result of the heavy nature of bread mix flour.

Bacon-Cheddar Muffins

 2 cups flour (I substituted 1 cup Red Mill Rice Flour and 1 cup Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Bread Mix)

¾ cup sugar (didn’t have granulated sugar, so I used turbinado. The large crystals didn’t dissolve completely and are a great addition)

2 tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. baking soda

½ tsp. salt

¾ cup plus 2 tbsp. milk

1/3 cup butter, melted and slightly cooled

1 egg

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

6 slices of bacon, crisp-cooked and crumbled

Preheat oven to 350. Grease 12 standard muffin cups.

Combine dry ingredients in bowl. Combine milk, butter and egg in small bowl; mix well. Add milk mixture to the dry ingredients stir until blended. Gently stir in bacon and cheese. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling ¾ full.

Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan 2 minutes and remove to wire rack. Serve warm or at room temp.

Note: You could substitute the milk, egg and bacon with healthier choices, but I don’t think that the cheese would be a good swap — the rice milk cheeses don’t seem to be as satisfying in this recipe.

Posted on December 28, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

