My Design Wall for the $7 Batik Quilt

In January when I first selected the yellow background for this quilt, some of the customers in the quilt shop were looking as worried as I felt. Would this yellow overpower the quilt or would it be just the right color to tie everything together?  Only one way to find out. Jump in and start cutting. I felt pretty good about the first two blocks, but I still wondered if it would be so bright that I would need sunglasses to work on the quilt.

I am happy to report that at the February show and tell my blocks were met with oohs. Everyone seemed to be as pleased with it as I was. As the months go on and I add new blocks, I fall more in love with it. It’s going to be one of my all time favorites. And I won’t need sunglasses.

Oh, why is it a $7 quilt? Calico Station has a block of the month program that is fun. The first month you buy the first star block and every month after that you have the month’s block done, you get the next block free. I joined this program three different times in the past and have always had to buy a block or two over the course of the year. My goal this year is to have them all done on time. I don’t have English essays to grade so it should be easy.

Posted on March 27, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

