How small is too small?

Uncovered an old UFO in my closet in February and have become obsessed with finishing it. Colors arranged just so, points matching perfectly are the way things in my universe work best.  For many years of Saturday mornings I was part of a quilting club that featured a wonderful show and tell every meeting that made me want to work with bright, bright colors and with scrappy quilts. Those who know me understand that I like nothing too flashy and the front needs to look as neat as the back (lessons from embroidering with my grandma).

This quilt is an adventure of lights and darks without regard for what goes next to what and definitely no thought to the rules of light and shadow. Believe me, it was hard not to lay out all the pieces and choose which patterns go best together. As you can see in my scrap box below, everything goes together! Not in my normal universe, but in this project, it strangely works. It will be a nice nap quilt on the back of my big comfy chair.

The 2 1/2 inch squares are my member’s bonus from Material Things’ Kwilt Klub.

The tiny half-square triangle blocks are from my insanely obsessive mind that wondered what could be done with those perfectly good little pieces? I think I may have a new pillow on the couch when I finish this. Only 8 border blocks and 4 long seams away from having the top done.

The pattern is called Charm Swaps from an Australian Patchwork and Quilting magazine (the date is invisible to me, but it is from around 2000).  I hope to have it finished by Easter.

 

 

 

Posted on March 10, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

